Eight Huskers Climb All-Time Charts at Mark Colligan Memorial

Eight Huskers Climb All-Time Charts at Mark Colligan Memorial

The Nebraska track and field team won 17 titles with eight athletes moving up on Nebraska’s all-time list at the Mark Colligan Memorial on Saturday at the Devaney Center Indoor Track.

Nebraska’s Taylor Latimer and Maxwell Otterdahl were named the recipients of the Mark Colligan Memorial Award, given to the meet’s most valuable throwers.

The award and meet are named after former NU assistant coach Mark Colligan, who passed away in 2011. Colligan was a member of the track and field program as an athlete and coach for over 25 years, coaching a total of 74 Big 12 Conference champions and five athletes who won a combined 12 national championships.

Otterdahl swept the throws, with a distance of 64-11 1/4 (19.79m) in the shot put and 71-2 1/2 (21.70m) in the weight throw. That shot put mark moves Otterdahl up to sixth in school history and ranks No. 2 in the Big Ten and No. 4 nationally this season.

Kevin Shubert chipped in a mark of 61-6 1/4 (18.75m) to finish runner-up in the shot put, while Nick Ronnfeldt rounded out the top three with a 57-7 3/4 (17.57m). In the weight throw, Josh Marcy finished second with a mark of 64-3 (19.58m).

In the women’s weight throw, Taylor Latimer broke her own school record with a toss of 72-7 1/4 (22.13m). That throw was the second-best in the Big Ten so far this season and the seventh-best nationally. Axelina Johansson had a personal-best mark of 64-10 1/2 (19.77m) to take third.

Latimer brought in another victory with a mark of 53-3 1/2 (16.24m) in the shot put. Kalynn Meyer finished second with a distance of 51-3 3/4 (15.64m).

In the women’s high jump, Jenna Rogers climbed into fifth in school history with a clearance of 6-1 1/4 (1.86m). She is currently tied for first in the Big Ten and tied for second in the nation with that height. Brooklyn Miller cleared 5-7 (1.70m) to finish as runner-up.

Adding to the success in the field events, Mayson Conner cleared 7-3 (2.21m) to win the men’s high jump. That is the second-best jump in the nation so far this season. Tyus Wilson finished as runner-up, jumping 6-11 1/2 (2.12m).

Lishanna Ilves leaped 20-1 3/4 (6.14m) to win the women’s long jump and Zionn Pearson placed third with a 18-4 1/2 (5.60m).

In the women’s triple jump, Ashley McElmurry recorded a distance of 41-2 1/4 (12.55m) to win the event. Lotavia Brown had a mark of 39-3 (11.96m) to…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at University of Nebraska…