Athletics News – News – Jenoah McKiver Shows Flashes Greatness Despite DQ At Big Ten Indoor Championships - News - Jenoah McKiver Shows Flashes Greatness Despite DQ At Big Ten Indoor Championships

Distance Dominance Powers Wisconsin Men; Michigan Women Ride Long Sprints To Title

By David Woods for DyeStat

Carol Chen photos

The biggest Big Ten happening didn’t officially happen.

In the conference indoor meet, Iowa’s Jenoah McKiver seemingly won the 600 meters Saturday in 1:14.27. The time came on the SPIRE Institute’s 300-meter oversized track at Geneva, Ohio, but it would have been No. 3 in world indoor history – if it had counted.

Only faster times have been by Donovan Brazier – 1:13.77 in 2019 and 1:13.97 in 2022.

However, McKiver was disqualified for a lane violation on the first turn.  On the other hand, the run should portend a great outdoor season.

“That’s what we are hoping for,” Iowa coach Joey Woody told DyeStat in an email.

McKiver, a 20-year-old sophomore, is a former football quarterback from High Point, N.C. He clocked 45.39 in an indoor 400 last year, was second at NCAAs (behind Randolph Ross) and then opened outdoors with a 44.74 at Tucson, Ariz. The April time was then No. 2 in the world.

A hamstring injury ended McKiver’s spring. In his only previous meet this year, he ran a 400 in 46.26 at Iowa on Jan. 13.

Wisconsin, already the Big Ten champion in cross country, made it 2-for-2 in men’s titles for 2022-23 by claiming its first indoor championship since 2014. The Badgers – led by Jackson Sharp’s double at 3,000 and 5,000 meters – scored 65 of their 110 points in the mile, 3,000, 5,000 and distance medley relay.

“We knew we had some big guns ranked No. 1 in their respective events, but you don’t win without a strong supporting cast who were also coming into the meet with very solid personal bests,” Wisconsin coach Mick Byrne said. “Across the board, our guys showed up.”

Nebraska was second with 103, scoring 60 in field events and heptathlon. Iowa was third with 98 and Indiana fourth with 79.

Sharp won Friday’s 5,000 in 14:07.80 and Saturday’s 3,000 in 7:51.53, winning both by less than a second over Indiana’s Jake Gephardt.

Outside the distances, the Badgers scored 10 from Lawrence Johnson’s 6.61 victory in the 60.

After McKiver’s DQ, Nebraska’s Nick Bryant was the 600 winner in 1:15.37. Including oversized tracks, Bryant climbed to 11th on the all-time collegiate list (behind McKiver’s 1:15.36 last year).

Also for Nebraska, Jonah Wilson, a transfer from Washington, won the shot put at 68-5/20.85m. He ranks second in the NCAA. The Cornhuskers’ Darius Luff won the 60 hurdles…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at RunnerSpace News…