Six Athletes, Two Relays Tabbed To Indoor All-SEC Teams

Six Athletes, Two Relays Tabbed To Indoor All-SEC Teams

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The Southeastern Conference announced Tuesday afternoon that six Tennessee track & field athletes and two relay groups were named to the league’s All-SEC teams after a successful showing at the 2023 SEC Indoor Championships in Fayetteville, Arkansas.
Jacious Sears, Dylan Jacobs and the men’s DMR team of Jacobs, Rasheeme Griffith, Joe Hoots and Yordanos Zelinski were chosen as first team All-SEC recipients, while Kayla Gholar, Charisma Taylor, Yaseen Abdalla, Rasheem Brown and three members of the men’s 4×400-meter relay squad — Emmanuel Bynum, Clement Ducos and Jakwan Hale — were slotted to the All-SEC second team.
The All-SEC first team consists of the top finishers in each event at the conference meet, while the second team consists of the second and third place finishers in each event. Ties are not broken.
Sears was victorious in the women’s 60-meter dash while also claiming a bronze medal in the 200-meter final. Jacobs topped the podium in the men’s 3,000-meter with a meet record performance, and the men’s DMR claimed the program’s first conference title in the event since 2007.
Gholar and Abdalla each picked up silver medals in the women’s and men’s 5k, respectively, on Friday night at the SEC indoor meet. Taylor won silver in the women’s triple jump and bronze in the 60-meter hurdles as part of her team-high 19 points, while Brown took home silver in the men’s 60-meter hurdles in a tight final in his SEC championship debut.
Tennessee rounded out the conference meet with the men’s 4×400-meter relay earning all-conference honors with a third-place finish.

The 2023 All-SEC Indoor Track & Field Teams are listed below:
First Team All-SEC
Favour  Ashe, Auburn
Bobby Colantonio, Alabama
Cameron Crump, Mississippi State
Keaton Daniel, Kentucky
Filip Demsar, South Carolina
Anass Essayi, South Carolina
Elija Godwin, Georgia
Rasheeme Griffith, Tennessee
Jaydon Hibbert, Arkansas
Joe Hoots, Tennessee
Demetrius Jackson, Alabama
Dylan Jacobs, Tennessee
Victor Kiprop, Alabama
Khaleb McRae, Alabama
John Meyer, LSU
Tarsis Orogot, Alabama
Ayden Owens-Delerme, Arkansas
Jacory Patterson, Florida

Ushan Perera, Texas A&M
Chris Robinson, Alabama
Will Sumner, Georgia
Yordanos Zelinski, Tennessee
Second Team All-SEC
Yaseen Abdalla, Tennessee
Dylan Allen, Kentucky
Jordan Anthony, Kentucky
Sam Austin, Florida
Christopher  Bailey, Arkansas
Peyton Bair, Mississippi State
Ricardo Banks,…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at University of Tennessee Athletics…