Athletics News

Alice, Hamish win our Cross Country GP titles – as Giffnock land trophies

Alice, Hamish win our Cross Country GP titles - as Giffnock land trophies

Friday 17th March 2023

CCGP 2022-23 R4

Alice Goodall and Hamish Hickey are our 2023 winners in the scottishathletics Cross Country Grand Prix.

Senior athletes will share £4000 of prize-money after the Lindsays National XC at Falkirk concluded the four-race series.

Double points for the National had an impact on the outcome and Goodall and Hickey are crowned champions and will each receive £750.

It has been a breakthrough season for both in many ways with Alice (Edinburgh University Hare and Hounds) winning a first Senior GB and NI call-up for the Euro Cross and then taking silver at Callendar Park.

Hamish (Central AC) for his part performed well at the Euro Clubs Cross and made the podium at Falkirk for the first time to take bronze.

This winter for the Cross Country GP the counting races were the Lindsays Short Course at Kirkcaldy, the Lindsays District XC Champs, the Inter-Districts at Scone Palace and the Lindsays National XC.

In the Women’s division, silver for Goodall at Falkirk led her to the top of our overall table with 152 points.

National champion Scout Adkin (Moorfoot Runners) takes second with 136 points with Gala Harriers Masters athlete, Sara Green, third with 120 points.

Nynke Mulholland (Inverclyde AC) was fourth on 109 points and Zoe Pflug (Edinburgh University Hare and Hounds) fifth with 104.

There was a tie in sixth between Naomi Lang (Carnethy) and Megan Keith (Edinburgh University Hare and Hounds). Competing the top ten were: Catriona MacDonald (Bellahouston Road Runners), Catriona Graves (Highland Hill Runners), Constance Nankivell (Edinburgh University Hare and Hounds).

Central AC celebrate team medals at Falkirk (photo by Bobby Gavin)

That bronze medal run from Hickey took him clear of the challengers in the Men’s division to win on 167 points. Hamish’s Central AC team-mate, Jamie Crowe, was second on 136 with Lachlan Oates (Shettleston Harriers) third on 133.

Scott Stirling (Falkirk Victoria Harriers) was fourth on 129 with Tom Graham-Marr making it three Central AC athletes in the top five with 124 points.

Inverclyde AC’s Ben Potrykus was sixth and Jamie Burns of Shettleston was seventh. Completing the top ten were: Logan Rees (Fife AC), Seyd Taha Ghafari (Shettleston Harriers), Kristian Jones (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers).


Photo by Bobby Gavin

Giffnock North AC are no strangers to cross country trophies and enjoyed significant success at Falkirk.

And that is reflected in…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at Scottish Athletics…