Athletics News – News – Victor Kiprop Extends Alabama 10,000-Meter Title Streak, Auburn’s Madi Malone Repeats as SEC Hammer Throw Champion - News - Victor Kiprop Extends Alabama 10,000-Meter Title Streak, Auburn's Madi Malone Repeats as SEC Hammer Throw Champion

Kiprop captures back-to-back 10,000 crowns, giving Crimson Tide six straight championships; Malone is first female athlete for Tigers to secure consecutive hammer throw titles, with Davidson, Minichello, Robinson-O’Hagan and Thorvaldson all achieving first SEC victories at LSU

By Erik Boal, DyeStat Editor

BATON ROUGE, La. – One of the most impressive title streaks in Southeastern Conference history continued Thursday, with several other droughts and long-awaited breakthroughs also being showcased at LSU’s Bernie Moore Track and Field Stadium.

Victor Kiprop was one of two repeat winners on the opening night of the three-day championship meet, extending Alabama’s run of men’s 10,000-meter crowns to six in a row.


Kiprop surged in the final 300 meters to pull away from Tennessee’s Yaseen Abdalla, securing back-to-back titles in 29 minutes, 58.43 seconds.

Abdalla placed second in 30:00.18 in his pursuit to become the first conference 10,000 winner for the Volunteers since 1991.

Kiprop, who covered the last lap in 55.96 seconds, became the first repeat 10,000 champion since Auburn’s Ben Cheruiyot in 2010-11. He also achieved the first back-to-back titles for the Crimson Tide in the 25-lap event since Tyson David in 2008-09.

Alabama has produced the longest men’s 10,000 championship streak since Arkansas won nine in a row from 1992-2000.

Auburn’s Madi Malone was the other repeat winner in the women’s hammer throw, becoming the first female athlete in program history to capture back-to-back titles in the event with a sixth-round effort of 225 feet, 4 inches (68.69m).

Malone became the first hammer throw champion to defend her title since Tennessee’s Stamatia Scarvelis repeated in 2018-19.

Ole Miss teammates Jalani Davis and Shey Taiwo were second and third with marks of 220-8 (67.27m) and 220-3 (67.13m), respectively.

Ole Miss did achieve the first men’s hammer throw championship in program history, with freshman Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan prevailing with a lifetime-best effort of 233-9 (71.25m) in the fifth round.

Robinson-O’Hagan became the first freshman to win the conference hammer throw crown since Florida’s Anders Eriksson in 2016. He also became the first SEC freshman to surpass the 71-meter mark since 2018.

Georgia’s Alencar Pereira, representing Brazil, placed second at 229-10 (70.07m), with last year’s conference champion Bobby Colantonio of Alabama taking third at 229-8 (69.96m).

Georgia’s Marc…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at RunnerSpace News…