Athletics News

Stunning 10km times for Natasha Phillips and Fiona Matheson – UK distance running round-up

Stunning 10km times for Natasha Phillips and Fiona Matheson - UK distance running round-up

Scottish athletes set remarkable age-related marks at Glasgow plus news of the Green Belt Relay in London



Huge under-20 prospect Natasha Phillips was a clear women’s winner in 33:00 which gave her the Scottish title with Kirsty Walker and Naomi Lang taking the other medals.

Recently turned 18, Phillips had passed her driving test the day before and this time moves her to fourth all-time among British juniors behind the Aldershot trio of Zola Budd, Steph Twell and Charlotte Purdue although her time was a UK best.

However, as Budd was South African-born and Twell and Purdue were 19 at the time and turning 20 during the year of the performances, Phillips’ time was the best ever British-born performance for an 18-year-old.

The leading master in fourth was W40 Sara Green, who was 10th in the UK Inter-Counties and ran 2:44 in the TCS London Marathon.

However, the top masters performance came from Fiona Matheson. The week after setting a British 5km record, she broke the UK W60 10km record with 38:08 and it was easily a world age-62 best.

The best gun time was previously Treena Johnson’s 38:31 from last year though Matheson did run a 38:39 gun time with a faster 38:19 chip time at Wilmslow last year.

Fiona Matheson (Bobby Gavin)

Former English and UK Inter Counties cross-country champion Calum Johnson was a clear winner in 29:45 though the Scottish title went to race runner-up John Bell who was 44 seconds in arrears.

Alastair Hay and Ryan Thomson took the other Scottish men’s medals.

John Bell wins the Scottish title (Bobby Gavin)

Men: 10km:
1 Calum Johnson Gateshead H 29:45
2 John Bell Inverclyde AC 30:29
3 Alastair Hay Central AC 30:33
4 Ryan Thomson Cambuslang 30:43
5 Michael Christoforou Cambuslang 30:55
6 Myles Edwards Aberdeen AAC 30:57
7 Calum Phillip Central AC 31:00
8 Max Abernethy Fraserburgh RC 31:06
9 Fraser Gilmour Kilbarchan 31:15
10 Ross Good Giffnock North 31:15
11 Darrell Hastie Gala Harriers M40 31:20

M60: Dave Thom Cambuslang Harriers 36:36


1 Natasha Phillips Dundee Hawkhill 33:00
2 Kirsty Walker Edinburgh AC 33:52
3 Naomi Lang Carnethy HRC 34:50
4 Sara Green Gala Harriers W40 35:09
5 Eilidh Bell Shettleston 35:09
6 Constance Nankivell Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds 35:24
7 Nynke Mulholland Inverclyde AC 35:49
8 Emily Carroll 36:05
9 Fiona Brian Metro Aberdeen…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at AW…