Athletics News

Ingebrigtsen 3:43.73 ER, Benjamin 46.39 DLR, 6 world leads at 2023 Nike Pre Classic, day 1


Ingebrigtsen 3:43.73 ER, Benjamin 46.39 DLR, 6 world leads

EUGENE (USA, Sep 16): Incredible first day of the Wanda Diamond League Final, for the first time outside Zurich or Brussels, was crowned by one of the best one-mile races ever with Jakob Ingebrigtsen’s European record, DL record and third all-time fastest of 3:43.73 and World U20 record for Reynold Cheruiyot (3:48.06). Another DL record for Rai Benjamin (46.39), and world lead also for Winfred Yavi (8:50.66), Yulimar Rojas (15.35), Chase Ealey (20.76), and Christian Coleman (9.83, equaled). Seven ‘Prefontaine Classic’ records and four area records. At the end of the season, athletes still in shape, and the second day is promising another firework of top marks.

Short reviews event by event


100m – Shericka Jackson (10.70/0.8) won the 100m (her first overall DL win at this distance), with Marie Jose Ta Lou second (10.75 =SB), Elaine Thompson Herah third (10.79 SB) and Sha’Carri Richardson fourth (10.80).

1500m – Faith Kipyegon 3:50.72, the fifth fastest in history. Behind 3:53.93 PB for Diribe Welteji and 3:55.16 for Laura Muir, her second fastest and EL. Australian Record also for Linden Hall (3:56.92) with nine runners under 4:00. the Fourth DL overall win for Kipyegon after 2017, 2021 and 2022.

3000m steeple – Winfred Yavi in 8:50.66 WL MR AR again defeated Beatrice Chepkoech (8:51.67), second and third all-time, third Cherotich (8:59.65 PB). She’s the new DL champion.

Pole vault – Katie Moon (4.86m) took the pole vault after jump-off with Tina Sutej, who was second 4.81m NR. New DL champion.

Triple jump – Yulimar Rojas 15.35m (1.2) WL MR won the triple jump ahead of Shanieka Ricketts 15.03 PB (0.0). Third DL overall win in a row for Rojas after 2021 and 2022.

Shot put – 20.76m American Record, WL and MR for Chase Ealey in the shot put, the longest throw in eight years. She also threw 20.61m a PB at the time. Second, Sarah Mitton 19.94 and third, Auriol Dongmo (19.92 PB and EL).

Javelin – Haruka Kitaguchi 63.78 and also 62.76 over Tori Peeters 61.30. New DL champion and first ever DL overall win for Japan.


100m – Christian Coleman (9.83 =WL / 0.1) won the 100m ahead of Noah Lyles by 0.02s, with Ferdinand Omanyala recording the same time in third (his PB outside of Nairobi).  Coleman vs. Lyles now 8:4.

400m – Kirani James in 44.30 SB ahead of Quincy Hall (44.44) and Vernon Norwood (44.61). Matthew Hudson Smith did not finish…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at runblogrun…