Clemson Athletic Hall of Fame

Clemson Athletic Hall of Fame

Note: The following appears in the Florida State football gameday program.

Eleven former Clemson student-athletes and coaches, including eight who earned All-America honors, will be inducted into the Clemson Athletic Hall of Fame this weekend. The class includes student-athletes and coaches from eight different sports. The group includes three former Tiger football players, two from men’s track & field and baseball and one each from men’s tennis, men’s basketball, women’s tennis, women’s track & field and a Hall of Fame former golf coach.

The class features multi-sport athlete Kyle Parker, who starred at Clemson in baseball and football between 2008-10. After earning All-ACC honors in baseball in the spring of 2008, when he should have been a senior in high school, Parker starred in football and baseball during the 2009-10 academic year.

In the fall of 2009, Parker totaled 20 passing touchdowns in quarterbacking Dabo Swinney’s football team to its first ACC Atlantic Division championship. In the spring, he hit 20 home runs in leading the Tiger baseball team to the College World Series. He remains the only athlete in Division I history with 20 passing touchdowns and 20 home runs in the same academic year.

DeAndre McDaniel and Raymond Priester are the other former Tiger football players in the class. McDaniel was an All-America safety in 2009 and 2010. He is the only Tiger in history with 15+ interceptions and 15 tackles for loss in a career. Priester rushed for 3,966 yards in his career as a running back, second most in school history. He held the record for 24 years until Travis Etienne broke it three years ago.

Yehezkel Halifa and Miller Moss are the two men’s track & field athletes who will be inducted. Halifa was an All-American in the 3000m, 5000m and 10,000m during his career and finished second at the NCAA Cross Country Championships, the highest finish for a Tiger in that national event. Moss won an NCAA championship in the indoor heptathlon and was an All-American outdoors in the decathlon.

Lawson Duncan and Ani Mijacika are two tennis players who will be inducted. Duncan was the No. 4 ranked player in the nation in 1984, when he posted a 70-14 record. He led the nation in wins that year, and it is still the Clemson single-season record. Mijacika was a singles and doubles All-American in 2009, when she was ACC Player-of-the-Year. She ranked No. 2 in the nation in singles in 2008 and No. 4 in 2009.

Will Solomon and Gary Burnham are two…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at Clemson Tigers | Clemson University Athletics | Track & Field…