Athletics News – News – Omelchenko, Boyle Gain Wins at 3rd Lauralton Classic - News - Omelchenko, Boyle Gain Wins at 3rd Lauralton Classic

By Ellis Gill, Lauralton Hall Coach, Editing and Graphics by Ron Knapp

The complete meet results including team scoring details, courtesy of Paynes Corner Timing, are available at Lauralton Classic sponsored by Marathon Sports – with stores in Branford, Fairfield, Glastonbury and Old Saybrook.

Lauralton Hall hosted the 3rd Lauralton Classic on Monday, October 2nd at Eisenhower Park in Milford.

Girls Races

Wilbur Cross defended its title from last year, coming away with an impressive win.  The Governors scored 40 on the day, followed by Sacred Heart Academy (58), Foran (61), North Haven (85), Branford (123), and North Branford (150). All New England runner Anna Omelchenko from Wilbur Cross continued her undefeated season with a first place win, running a solid time of 19:51 on the tough course. She was followed by her teammate Grayson Neuman, who took 2nd overall with a time of 20:32. Rounding out the top 5 was Adrianna Gonzalez from Foran, Mackenzie Spooner from SHA, and Olivia Dyki from Foran.

In the JV race, Ava Lattanzi from Sacred Heart Academy came away with the win, running 25:38. Jacqueline Miller from Amity finished close behind in a time of 25:40.  Amity (26) just edged out SHA (29) for the jv team win, with Foran (83) taking third.

Boys Races

On the boys side, Notre-Dame West Haven also defended their title from last year. They took first place with a score of 47, followed by West Haven (67), North Haven (70), Wilbur Cross (88), Foran (94), Jonathan Law (143), and Branford (147). Nico Boyle is having a breakout season and is undefeated so far this fall. The North Haven senior took home the gold on the day, running a speedy 17:04 on the challenging course. Ben Farmer from Notre-Dame had a late charge to take second, followed by Sebastian Halpern (Cross), Owen Fletcher (ND), and Joseph Meade (Foran). Things got closer for the Green Knights when their #4 runner took a wrong turn and lost several places. 

In the JV race, Brent Wange of Notre-Dame secured the victory, running a time of 20:09. He was followed by Sean McCurley (ND), Joe Carone (ND), Matthew Montini (Law), and Arvid Torngrip (Foran).  Notre-Dame also won theJV race, scoring 35 points.  Following Notre-Dame was North Haven (51), Law (65), Foran (67), Cross (138).

Lauralton hopes to have more schools join this fun, early week invite next year!


CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at RunnerSpace News…