NC State Women, North Carolina Men Claim 2023 ACC Cross Country Championships

NC State Women, North Carolina Men Claim 2023 ACC Cross Country Championships

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – The NC State women own yet another Atlantic Coast Conference Cross Country title, and the North Carolina men are league champions for the first time since 1985.

A beautiful morning at the Apalachee Regional Park along with live ACC Network television coverage provided for the first ACC Championship of the 2023-24 year as the Wolfpack women claimed their eighth consecutive ACC Cross Country title – an ACC record – and their ninth overall under current head coach Laurie Henes. NC State’s 29 total team cross country championships are the most by an ACC women’s program in any sport.

NC State ran away with the team title, finishing with 37 points, earning a commanding victory over Notre Dame, who finished second overall with 80 points. The Wolfpack placed three in the top 10 behind Katelyn Tuohy’s first-place finish in 19:22.8 and Kelsey Chmiel’s third-place finish in 19:36.5. Duke’s Amina Maatoug finished in 19:29.9 for second place.

Tuohy is the first back-to-back Women’s ACC Cross Country Individual Champion since Florida State’s Susan Kuijken won three consecutive years from 2007-2009. Her time of 19:22.8 also ties the second-fastest ACC Championship 6K record set by North Carolina’s Shalane Flanagan in 2003.

The North Carolina men, under the direction of head coach Chris Metlinger, claimed the ninth ACC men’s title in program history and the first in nearly four decades. The Tar Heels placed four runners among the top eight to finish with 49 points ahead of second-place Syracuse (65).

North Carolina’s Parker Wolfe took the gold medal with a time of 23:03.1, avenging his runner-up finish in 2022, with the second-fastest 8K time in ACC Championship history. Syracuse’s Paul O’Donnell took silver, finishing in 23:08.2, and Florida State’s David Mullarkey took the bronze, crossing the finish line in 23:11.5.

Wolfe was followed by teammates Alex Phillip in fourth (23:14.2), Ethan Strand in sixth (23:20.4) and Jake Gebhardt in ninth (23:26.6) as the Tar Heels filled the top 10 finishers.

The first true freshman finisher in each race was designated the ACC Men’s and…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at Atlantic Coast Conference…