Athletics News

Records continue to tumble on the second day of 38th National Junior Athletics Meet « Athletics Federation of India

Records continue to tumble on the second day of 38th National Junior Athletics Meet « Athletics Federation of India


National and meet records continued to tumble on the second day of the 38th National Junior Athletics Championships here on Wednesday at the Nehru Stadium.

Haryana’s promising sprinter Bhawna broke a decade long girls U20 100m record today. Her gold medal winning time of 11.55 seconds was better than Dutee Chand’s national record of 11.63 clocked in 2013. The meet record was 11.76 seconds.

Throwers from Punjab continued to impress in the field events. Gurleen Kaur etched her name in the record books by improving the national and meet record in the girls U18 shot put. Gurleen recorded a throw of 16.75m, which was better than the national and meet record of 16.56m set last year by Vidhi in Guwahati.

Kerala’s Anupriya VS silver winning effort of 16.70m was also better than the previous national record.

Kuldeep Kumar of Uttar Pradesh also set a national record in the U20 pole vault. He cleared 5.17m to better the Dev Kumar Meena’s record of 5.16m recorded recently at the National Games in Goa.



U16: Discus throw: Nishchay (Haryana) 56.59m, Usman Khan (Madhya Pradesh) 55.91m, Rudar (Haryana) 55.04m.

U16: Long jump: Jithin RC (Tamil Nadu) 7.35 (meet record), Anurag (Uttar Pradesh) 6.85m, Jeyapranesh J (Tamil Nadu) 6.63m,

U16: Discus throw: Nishchay (Haryana) 56.59m, Usmanali Khan (Madhya Pradesh) 55.91m, Rudar (Haryana) 55.04m,


U18: 100m: Anshu Rajak (Uttar Pradesh) 10.67 secs, Jason Castelino (Maharashtra) 10.81 secs, J Gokul Pandiyan (Tamil Nadu) 10.82 secs.

U18: 1500m: Priyanshu (Uttarakhand) 3:49.26 meet record, Gaurav Panchal (Haryana) 3:51.29 secs, Rahul Sarnaliya (Uttrakhand) 3:52.18 secs

U20: 100m: Anurag CV (Kerala) 10.50 secs meet record, Harsh Raut (Maharashtra) 10.54 secs, Dondapati Mruty (Odisha) 10.55 secs

U20: 10,000m race walk: Bilin George Anto (Kerala) 42:45.25 secs, Roshan Kumar (Jharkhand) 43:04.96 secs, Rohit Kumar Yadav (Gujarat) 43:14.06 secs.

U20: Hammer throw: Mohammad Shahban (Uttar Pradesh) 69.55m, Devang (Delhi) 68.74m, Nitish Kumar (Rajasthan) 66.58m.

U20: Pole vault: Kuldeep Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 5.17m national record, Tanuj Kumar (Haryana) 4.80m, Pawan Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 4.60m.


U16: 100m: Vala Roshanba (Gujarat) 12.12 secs, Nancy (Haryana) 12.12 secs, Archita Banerjee (West Bengal) 12.36 secs.

U16: 5,000m race walk: Nitin Gupta (Uttar Pradesh) 20:34.21 secs, Himanshu Panwar (Uttarakhand) 21:36.34 secs, Tushar Panwar (Uttarakhand) 22:49.48 secs.

U16: 3,000m race…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at Athletics Federation of India…