Athletics News – News – 2024 Class S Indoor TF Championship Titles Return to Bloomfield - News - 2024 Class S Indoor TF Championship Titles Return to Bloomfield

By Senior Correspondent Marty Ogden, Editing and Graphics by Ron Knapp

At the 2024 CIAC Class S Indoor Track and Field Championships at Floyd Little Athletic Center on Friday night the Bloomfield Warhawks brought home a pair of first place plaques as the boys returned to the top while the girls won their 14th consecutive title.


Bloomfield boys, who finished second the past two years, won their 8th all-time Boys Indoor Track & Field Class S State Championship easily defeating Suffield by a score of 80.5 to 45. 

The Bloomfield 55m hurdlers scored 14 points in taking 2,4,5 places propelling them into first place midway through the meet behind the winning effort by Derby’s Byron McLean in 7.72.

There was a loud burst of excitement from the shot put circle as Bloomfield sophomore Khile Francis set a PR by almost 2-feet with his winning toss of 54-04.25 while silver medalist Craig Gnatek of Suffield improved his PR several inches to 53-08 as the top four bested the 50-foot mark.

Bloomfield’s sprint relays were simply no match for the other teams in Class S. They opened up the meet winning the 4x200m in 1:33.71 and closed off the evening running  3:34.81 in the 4x400m. 

Jahmeen Harrigan was a member of both winning relays, but also won gold for himself by placing first in the time of 35.19 over the 300m distance. That time was only .04 seconds off his best he ran on the Armory’s banked track. 

Ja’Mari Manson only took one attempt, to finish 2nd in the long jump and returned to claim the win in the high jump with a clearance of 6-2, five inches less than his best. 

Makye Wade, the Week 5 Hoka Athlete of the week, soared to a US#13 mark of 23-04.00 that tied him for #13 CT all time. The Capital Prep senior just missed Dyshon Vaughn’s meet record by 3/4 of an inch. 

After a disqualification of St. Bernard’s Colin Britner for cutting in too soon on the last turn of the 1000m, Cromwell’s Dylan Bathrick was declared the winner as he shaved three and a half seconds off his best finishing in a time of 2:36.46. He returned to run the 800m anchor leg of the 1600m sprint medley relay to his second win of the day. Bathrick. 

Suffield was led once again by senior Griffin Mandirola who raced three and a half miles around the 200m oval. He was part of the 2nd place 4 x 800m and returned to win the 1600m in 4:30.43 and 3200m in a time of 10:0.94. 

The last time a girls team other than Bloomfield won an indoor Class S Track and Field title was in…

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at RunnerSpace News…