Athletics News

2024 NCAA Men’s Formchart #1 — A Tie?!

2024 NCAA Men’s Formchart #1 — A Tie?!

While few direct matchups are foreseen for the two teams atop the chart, both Tech & A&M figure to score in the high hurdles, as they did in the Indoor 60H. (KEVIN MORRIS)

In our women’s predictions we noted that things don’t get much closer, as that team race will go down to the final event before the winner is known. The men’s competition looks to be even closer, with current crystal-balling seeing a tie. That would be the first knotting since ’13.

The way our first formchart of the year sees things, the meet will go into the ultimate race with Texas Tech holding a 45–44 lead over Texas A&M. LSU is another point back, but doesn’t appear to have a strong 4×4. A&M meanwhile, is projected to take 3rd, with Tech 4th, which will leave them tied for the crown, with another 6 back to LSU.

Successful individual defenses of ’23 wins look to be hard to come by as 10 of 19 champions return, but only 5 are picked to repeat their wins: 110H—Phillip Lemonious (Arkansas), 400H—Chris Robinson (Alabama), HJ—Romaine Beckford (Arkansas), HT—Kenneth Ikeji (Harvard), Dec—Leo Neugebauer (Texas).

The 10-deep predictions for each event (‘ = athlete not eligible for U.S. international teams):

=1. Texas A&M 50
=1. Texas Tech 50
3. LSU 44
4. Arkansas 41
5. Florida 39
6. Texas 32
7. Alabama 30
8. Georgia 28
9. Washington 26
10. Auburn 23
(complete team scores below event picks)
1. Terrence Jones’ Texas Tech Sr
2. Godson Oghenebrume’ LSU Jr
3. Shaun Maswanganyi’ Houston Sr
4. Favour Ashe’ Auburn Jr
5. Kalen Walker Iowa Jr
6. Da’Marcus Fleming LSU Sr
7. Robert Gregory Florida Sr
8. Javonte Harding Tennessee Sr
9. Davonte Burnett’ Houston Sr
10. Ismael Kone’ Florida State Sr
1. Terrence Jones’ Texas Tech Sr
2. Robert Gregory Florida Sr
3. Cheickna Traore’ Penn State Jr
4. Tarsis Orogot’ Alabama Jr
5. Shaun Maswanganyi’ Houston Sr
6. Cameron Miller Purdue So
7. Javonte Harding Tennessee Sr
8. Lance Lang Arkansas Sr
9. Kennedy Lightner Kentucky Sr
10. Jordan Ware Mississippi State Fr
1. Christopher Morales Williams’ Georgia So
2. Auhmad Robinson Texas A&M Jr
3. Judson Lincoln Virginia Tech So
4. JeVaughn Powell’ Florida Sr
5. Samuel Ogazi’ Alabama Fr
6. Kennedy Lightner Kentucky Sr
7. William Jones USC So
8. Khaleb McRae Alabama Sr
9. Emmanuel Bynum Tennessee Sr

CLICK HERE to Read the Full Original Article at Track & Field News…